Koko Head RR “hike” April 28th

Brief entry.

still working out the kinks in my knee. took the “hike” up Koko Head yesterday.  It’s really a steep walk, straight up. In afternoon it is under a blazing sun. it was 85 degrees yesterday.

eastern side of Oahu overlooking channel to Molokai
the zipper-like line is the former funicular railway bed, used as a Cardio workout by the locals

There is actually a hike listed in the guidebook which goes up the east side of Koko Head, but not as popular. the climb is about a thousand feet, there are 1,048 railroad ties to climb. I did not count as I went along. couple hundred people on this trail, including runners who went full speed up and down. I don’t have quite the confident to place my feet. I used my hiking poles, one of the few who had them. Nice view from the summit also included a look at Sandy Beach. There is an old helipad on the top. Overall, my knee felt the best it has been in  awhile, I am very encouraged.  took a long soak in the tub when I got home.

Author: Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

These blogs, and my books, and videos are written on the principle that any person embarking on something similar to what I do will gain more preparation than I first had, by reading them. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add to it fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011.

2 thoughts on “Koko Head RR “hike” April 28th”

This planet is smaller than it used to be. You can communicate with me no matter where I may wander. keep those cards and letters coming